Share this news
Critics Circle of Life
Posted by editor_usa

The Latest Honours For ”Billy Elliot”

Tuesday 12
May 2009 @ 15:30

Yesterday the Outer Critics Circle announced the winners for the 59th annual awards. An official ceremony will be held at Sardi’s on Thursday, May 21.

The musicals Billy Elliot and Shrek led the pack with 7 and 4 accolades, respectively; in addition, the three boys who play Billy, David Alvarez, Trent Kowalik and Kiril Kulish, will receive a Special Achievement Award.

Below are the wins for Billy Elliot:

Outstanding New Broadway Musical

Outstanding New Score

Elton and Lee Hall

Outstanding Director of a Musical
Stephen Daldry

Outstanding Choreographer
Peter Darling

Outstanding Lighting Design
Rick Fisher

Outstanding Featured Actor in a Musical
Gregory Jbara

Outstanding Featured Actress in a Musical
Haydn Gwynne

The Outer Critics Circle awards are presented annually for theatrical achievements both on and Off-Broadway. The decisions are made by theater critics who review for out-of-town newspapers, national publications, and other media outlets outside of New York City.

Did you like this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.